Taking the First Step

Nice Day-Sunshine and Clouds

Photo by Rebecca

I realize that I’m a real “Ms. Fixit.”  While sometimes this is a welcome quality among my family, friends, and peers–I also realize that this can be stressful and meddlesome.  And so I’ve been working on aligning myself with internal peace and gratitude and practicing the art of allowing with others.

Instead of trying to control the situation by trying to make things better, I breathe deeply (practice square breathing) and allow myself to to inhale the present moment.  I am realizing that this actually has a deeper and longer living impact than my short bursts of making everyone happy and distracting real work that needs to be done.

One of my favorite quotes is from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., “Take the first step of faith.  You don’t have to see the whole staircase, take the first step.”  I know I will not be able to transform my way of existing overnight.  So, for now, I will have to focus on small steps.  Today I will take this first step.

Here is what I may concentrate on myself:

I can start where I am.
Use what I have.
Do what I can.
Be a little more generous.
Be a little more kind.
Be a little more helpful.

And I just might make a huge difference.

This outline is a simple premise for being happier and accomplishing more.
By simply trying a little harder and going easy on myself, I’m not rushing around trying to play hero for others.  I’m just trying a little harder.

I will dedicate myself to have fun while I take steps to do a little more, even if just a little bit.
If everyone tried just a little harder to do more and be more, seems like we would all be hugely better off.  Imagine the ground we could cover as a species if we all just took this first step!

About themacdoodle

Communications Manager, Creative Strategist, Community Builder, & Possibility Agent
This entry was posted in Musings, The Path of Enlightenment and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

