Juice Up Day–The One and Only

I’ll admit it.  I might have been a little enthusiastic about starting a two-day juice fast on a Sunday.  I did successfully complete one day.  But by nightfall I realized that I just didn’t have it in me to plan my entire night toward making a busy Monday and first day of the work week a success.

So I forgave myself by making healthy food choices to ease my body back into my regular “diet.”  Captured in today’s blog is my food journal from last week’s juice fast.

Bon Apetit!

7:30am

When I woke up this morning my stomach took over my thoughts and one word announced itself like a neon blinking light, “FOOD! FOOD!  FOOD!”  This is probably not the ideal thought to wake up to on the first day of a juice fast.  But I busied my mind quickly with the thought of preparing my first juice of the morning–loaded with fruit and berries and that seemed to hold me over until my breakfast juicing was complete.

Breakfast: Antiaging Cocktail
Yields one 8 oz. serving

  • 1/2 inch piece of ginger root*
  • 1 small bunch of organic purple grapes (about 1 cup) with small stems and seeds
  • 6 oz of blackberries
  • 1/4 pealed lemon

*When ginger is used in a recipe, I always rearrange the recipe to start with ginger.  It does not have a lot of water and so it will not produce much juice.  But it will infuse the blades and any fruit or vegetable that follows making your drink pop with spicy ginger goodness!

The Juice Lady encourages those embarking on a juice fast to add two teaspoon of ground psyllium seed husks to 3 of the 6 meals in order to help curb the appetite and make up for the fiber that will be missed out on by eliminating whole food from the diet.  And boy was she right.  The psyllium seed husks powder expanded and practically doubled the size of my berry cocktail.  By the time I got to the last few “sips,” I had to pull a spoon out and scoop away.  In some ways this was a pity because the juice came out so beautifully dark-purple and albugineous that it would have been lovely to be served in a wine glass.  But the bulk made it clumpy and took away from the otherwise elegant presentation.

10:00am

After cleaning the breakfast prep mess, I brewed my coffee replacement of the day: herbal Roastaroma tea.  Then I figured that I could get a head start by preparing the mid morning snack juice.

Triple C

Snack:  Triple C
Yields one 16 oz serving

  • 1/4 small head green cabbage
  • 4 carrots
  • 4 stalks organic celery with leaves

Scrub carrots well, trim the ends, and remove the green tops. Start with cabbage–in fact, I find that it’s always best to start with leaf vegetables as the water is harder to pass through after the heavier fruits and vegetables pass.

12:00pm

By the time it was lunch time, was tired and ready for a nap…but my stomach was again growling.  I’m a slave to my stomach, so the nap would have to wait.  Plus, I knew the shot of fresh nutrients would give my energy a spike!

Ingredients for Magnesium Special

Lunch:  Magnesium Special
Yields one 16 oz serving

  • 5 carrots
  • 2 stalks organic celery with leaves
  • 1/2 small beat with leaves and stems
  • 2 broccoli florets
  • 1/2 lemon, pealed

Scrub carrots well, trim the ends, and remove the green tops.  As you might notice from my photo, I forgot the lemon.  Despite the missing ingredient the juice was fantastic.  The beat gave it an earthy after taste and I think this is where the lemon would have cut that earthy reminiscence a bit.

My only complaint this time was the two teaspoons of psyllium seed husks.  I enjoy juice so much more when it is light and watery instead of thick and pudding like.  But I did it, and I hope that my colon will be happy because of it.

3:00pm

Afternoon Snack:  Santa Fe Salsa
Yields one 8 oz serving

  • 1 tomato
  • 1/2 medium organic cucumber
  • 1/4 cup cilantro*
  • 1/4 lemon, peeled
  • Dash of Cayenne Pepper

Start with Cilantro as a leafy and subtle vegetable.  It will make it easier to juice the other ingredients and will infuse them with cilantro highlights.

5:30pm

Dinner:  Gall Bladder Cleansing Cocktail
Yields one 16 oz serving

  • 1/2 organic cucumber
  • 5 carrots
  • 1/2 small to medium beet with leaves and stems, scrubbed well
  • 1/2 lemon, peeled

Scrub carrots well, trim the ends, and remove the green tops.

8:00pm

After Dinner Snack: Sweet Dreams Night Cap
Yields one 16 oz serving

  • 2 romaine lettuce leaves
  • 1 handful parsley
  • 4 carrots
  • 3 organic celery stalks with leaves

Scrub carrots well, trim the ends, and remove the green tops.

In addition to adding two teaspoons of ground psyllium husks to  3 of the 5 meals to help curb my appetite and make up for the fiber I missed out on by eliminating whole food from my diet, I also drank plenty of water and herbal tea.  Much of the day was spent juicing, cleaning, and mentally preparing for my next meal.

I went to bed on the early side–pretty close to 10pm.  I decided that I would check in with myself in the morning to see if I really had it in me to get up a couple hours early to prepare juices for 4 servings (breakfast, morning snack, lunch, afternoon snack).  It was a long but rewarding day!

All recipes were adapted from The Juice Lady’s Guide to Juicing for Health, by Cherie Calbom.

About themacdoodle

Communications Manager, Creative Strategist, Community Builder, & Possibility Agent
This entry was posted in The Path of Enlightenment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

