My Manifesto: inspired by lulumon

I recently came across the lulumon manesto.  Now, I will admit that I  have never really entertained getting a tattoo until I read this manifesto.  (That is to say that–I never really SERIOUSLY entertained the idea). And now I have to resist the urge to get it branded into my skin.  As if etching it into my skin in indelible ink will also brand it into my brain.

No.  I will not tattoo it to my skin today.

Instead I will tattoo it to a blog post.  Besides, I really don’t think that such a wordy tattoo would compliment the lulumon brand.  I  also have an 8 x 14 poster on my fridge.  My intention is to make sure that I slow down and read this on a weekly basis.  If I can stop and read it once for every ten times I walk by it, then it has done the job.

Like most brands and philosophies–though very good and mostly true–all points in their manifesto do not completely resonate with me 100%.  And so, I did some minor editing to reflect my life’s manifesto.

Today, for your inspiration, I present to you my revised points from the lululemon manifesto.  May it NOT inspire you to follow your dreams–but to ARTICULATE and check in on them.  One of my goals for 2012 is to finally complete my life’s strategic plan.  This is my muse as I do it!

lulumon MY manifesto

  • THAT WHICH MATTERS THE MOST SHOULD NEVER GIVE WAY TO THAT WHICH MATTERS THE LEAST.
  • Drink FRESH water and as much water as you can. Water flushes unwanted toxins from your body and keeps your brain sharp.
  • Practice yoga or tai chi so you can remain active in physical sports as you age.
  • Listen, listen, listen, and then ask strategic questions.
  • YOUR OUTLOOK ON LIFE IS A DIRECT REFLECTION OF HOW MUCH YOU LIKE YOURSELF.
  • Life is full of setbacks. Success is determined by how you handle setbacks.
  • Write down your short and long-term GOALS four times a year. Two personal, two business and two health goals for the next 1, 5 and 10 years. Goal setting triggers your subconscious computer.
  • Visualize your eventual demise. It can have an amazing effect on how you live for the moment.
  • The pursuit of happiness–as defined by society (aka OTHERS)–is the source of all unhappiness…Measure your happiness based you what feels good to YOU.
  • Jealousy works the opposite way you want it to.  Jealousy and wishing will not help you achieve what you want to have. Learn from the experiences of others and strive to obtain your dreams and wishes!
  • Breathe deeply and appreciate the moment. Living in the moment could be the meaning of life.
  • Do one thing a day that scares you.
  • Take various vitamins. You never know what small mineral can eliminate the bottleneck to everlasting health.
  • Dance, sing, floss and travel.
  • Do not use cleaning chemicals on your kitchen counters. Someone will inevitably make a sandwich on your counter.
  • Creativity is maximized when you’re living in the moment.
  • LOVE
  • Children hold the secret to life.  Watch them as they play, feel, and live IN THE MOMENT.
  • FRIENDS are more important than money.
  • Don’t trust that an old age pension will be sufficient.
  • Live near the ocean and inhale the pure salt air that flows over the water, Vancouver will do nicely.
  • STRESS is related to 99% of all illness.
  • A daily hit of athletic-induced endorphins gives you the power to make better decisions, helps you be at peace with yourself, and offsets stress.
  • OBSERVE A PLANT BEFORE AND AFTER WATERING AND RELATE THESE BENEFITS TO YOUR BODY AND BRAIN.
  • SWEAT once a day to regenerate your skin.
  • What we do to the earth we do to ourselves.
  • The conscious brain can only hold one thought at a time. Choose a positive thought.
  • Communication is COMPLICATED. We are all raised in a different family with slightly different definitions of every word. An agreement is an agreement only if each party knows the conditions for satisfaction and a time is set for satisfaction to occur.
  • Nature wants us to be mediocre because we have a greater chance to survive and reproduce. Mediocrity is as close to the bottom as it is to the top, and will give you a MEDIOCRE life.  Instead, GO FOR GREATNESS.
  • Successful people replace the words ‘wish’, ‘should’ and ‘try’, with “I WILL”.
  • The world is changing at such a rapid rate that waiting to implement changes will leave you 2 steps behind. DO IT NOW, DO IT NOW, DO IT NOW!
About themacdoodle

Communications Manager, Creative Strategist, Community Builder, & Possibility Agent
This entry was posted in The Path of Enlightenment and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Manifesto: inspired by lulumon

  1. wuggs says:

    u r awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

