Never too late for a New Year’s Favorite: Vegetarian Hoppin’ John

Hoppin John

Every year since I’ve lived in Camberville I head over to Red Bones to partake in my New Year’s food tradition.  This year I was coming off of a juice fast and I chose to save my energy (and beat the temptation of making unhealthy choices following a cleanse).   I found this recipe by Kristi M. Jones at Veggie Converter in my search for the perfect vegetarian Hoppin’ John black eyed pea recipe to ensure that my 2013 was filled with good luck (and good health).  This was the perfect balance of traditions as it also included Kale (for money).  I topped it off by making a batch of cornbread muffins to tie the luck and money into one amazing New Year’s Day dinner.

Seriously, folks.  Wuggs is still talking about this.  So it may be time for me to bring a little luck and money back in as we approach the first quarter of the not-so-new year.

Sundays, since the new year, have been my slow cooker cook days.  I’ve tried several new recipes and the best part is that they keep me eating well (and on the cheap) throughout the week with lots of leftovers for lunch.  So when Wuggs thanked me for tonight’s masterpiece and then followed up with a request for the return of Hoppin’ John… I just couldn’t resist.  So this is what I’ll be making for the next “Slow Sunday.”

Crockpot Vegetarian Hoppin’ John

serves 10 and can be frozen

Ingredients

  • 1 pound dry black eyed peas, soaked overnight
  • 4 cups veggie broth
  • 1 pound vegetarian smoked sausage, sliced
  • 1 7 oz. can chopped green chiles
  • 1 bunch of collard greens or kale, chopped and ribbed
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 dried hot pepper
  • 1 medium onion, chopped (about 3/4 cup)
  • 2 C cooked rice
Directions
Use a 6-quart slow cooker. Soak your black-eyed peas overnight, drain and rinse in cool water. Alternately, you can put the beans in salted water and boil rapidly for 10 minutes.

Put peas, broth and sausage in the crock-pot. Stir in the chiles, hot pepper and onion. Add greens, and sprinkle on the salts and pepper. Cover and cook on low for 8-12 hours, or until the beans are soft. Stir well and serve over rice.

About themacdoodle

Communications Manager, Creative Strategist, Community Builder, & Possibility Agent
This entry was posted in Musings, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

